• This event has passed.

Event Description

Flanked by two of Stravinsky’s most engaging American compositions – his Concerto in D for strings and Brandenburg-inspired ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ for chamber orchestra – sits one of Mozart’s greatest and latest achievements.

Written less than two months before his early death, this pivotal work – in the sunny key of A major – contains everything you ever need to know about the clarinet: especially how, in Michael Collins’ hands, it can be made to sing!

Three years earlier, Mozart had also produced his three final symphonies: this astonishing central one – in the profound key of G minor – capable of forever changing how we think of classical music.

Stravinsky – Concerto in D
Mozart – Clarinet Concerto in A major
Stravinsky – Concerto in Eb ‘Dumbarton Oaks’
Mozart – Symphony no40

Michael Collins – clarinet/director
Orchestra of the Swan

All Stratford-upon-Avon series tickets are on sale at the RSC Box Office, Waterside.

Find out more…